Grants and Awards

The Intensive Care Society New Investigator Awards (NIA)

In 2023 the Society offered two grants, for a total of £30,000, to applicants to our NIA.

The NIA is aimed primarily at encouraging new researchers from medical, nursing, physiotherapy and other allied health qualified backgrounds.

We had the privilege of reviewing a multitude of groundbreaking research proposals for our New Investigator Award, each teeming with potential to push the boundaries of knowledge and innovation. After much deliberation and a thorough peer review process it was concluded that the following two applications would be awarded.

Jan Hansel

Project Title: Therapeutic Drug Monitoring – Targeting Improved Effectiveness: an observational cohort study (TDM-TIME)

It is a great honour to receive the ICS New Investigator Award. I would like to acknowledge the multidisciplinary teams at Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust and the University of Manchester who have been instrumental in helping set up the TDM-TIME study, which is now actively recruiting. This funding will allow us to undertake novel transcriptomic and immunological analyses of patient blood samples that will further our understanding of the relationship between antimicrobial underdosing and disease suphenotypes in critical illness.” - Jan Hansel

James Sheehan

Project title: COPPICUS (Causes Of Persistent Pain in ICU Survivors) study

As we celebrate this milestone, we also express our gratitude to all the researchers who submitted proposals. The depth and breadth of ideas showcased the incredible talent within our community. Although we couldn't fund every proposal, we acknowledge the importance of each contribution to the critical care research community.

The Intensive Care Society & NIHR Clinical Research Awards

The Society, in partnership with the National Institute for Health and Care Research (NIHR), was pleased to run the ICS and NIHR Clinical Research Awards 2023.

These awards recognise and celebrate those making outstanding contributions to clinical research, particularly in relation to NIHR Clinical Research Network (NIHR CRN) portfolio research studies from all professions in adult intensive care.

We offered two awards of £2,000 to recognise contribution, engagement and leadership in academic research from staff within UK intensive care and the winners were announced at the 2023 State of the Art Congress in Birmingham.

Congratulations to  Brendan Sloan and Nikitas Nikitas!

ICS and NIHR Clinical Research Awards 2023 winners Nikitas Nikitas and Brendan Sloan, with SOA Programme Director PJ Zolfaghari, Intensive Care Society Chief Executive Sandy Mather, and Intensive Care Society President Steve Mathieu


State of the Art Congress: Abstracts and ePosters

Each year the Society offers investigators and clinicians the opportunity to present their work in either a poster or oral format at our State of the Art Congress. Successful work in all categories will be published as a Journal of the Intensive Care Society (JICS) abstract (PubMed-listed) and reviewed by the Editorial Board. There is a significant conversion rate to full article publication in JICS.

How to Apply


National Clinical Impact Award (formerly ACCEA)

There have been changes to the National Clinical Impact Awards (NCIA) scheme which have affected all supporting bodies, like the Society. Supporting bodies are no longer permitted to provide written citations in support of applications from our membership or community.  

The Society is acutely aware that our role in past NCIA rounds was viewed by members as extremely useful and as such as we are keen to provide some level of support. Whilst official scoring and peer reviewing of applications is no longer allowed, the Society is permitted to review applications against a checklist which the Advisory Committee on Clinical Impact Awards (ACCIA) has provided.  

Guidance for applicants  

For those considering an application to this year’s NCIA we recommend you read through the guidance for applicants and also consider the BMA’s guidance on the financial implications of an award. 

Important dates 

Open date - 4 March 2024

Close date - 5pm, 15 April 2024