

Minutes of the 47th Annual Member's Meeting of the Intensive Care Society Tuesday 11th December 5.4545 p.m.

ICS Village

QEII Conference Centre

Broad Sanctuary, Westminster, London SW1P 3EE

In attendance:

Dr Gary Masterson(GM), Dr Ganesh Suntharalingam (GS), Dr Steve Mathieu (SM), Craig Brown(CB), Dr Stephen Webb (SW), Dr Sandy Mather (SJM), plus approximately 40 other attendees including Council members, Society members and Society staff.

1. Welcome & 2018 Minutes (SW)

Minutes of last year's meeting were accepted as an accurate reflection of the 2017 meeting.

2. 2018 Annual Report Summary

Outgoing President's report

Gary Masterson gave members an update on progress over the last 12 months which he said had been very busy with Council, Executive and office staff driving forward changes and growth. He reported the following

- Sandy Mather, the Chief Executive, had developed a new five year strategy with the multi-professional membership of the Society at its core.
- Steve Mathieu, Programme Director for the State of the Art conference was congratulated for delivering a successful event with the largest delegate numbers to date.
- The Society's seminar programme for 2019 has been refined and will focus on topics that members have told us they want delivered and with some regional seminars.
- The Society plans to expand FICS and CUSIC internationally.
- JICS is growing and becoming a leading publication in critical care.
- The research programme goes from strength to strength.
- GIPICS V. 2 will be released in 2019 following a full public consultation where we received 600 responses..
- The new Standards and Guidelines Committee met in December, 2018.

International Travelling Fellow

The President thanked the 2018 international travelling fellow Madiha Hashmi for her contribution toward developing an intensive care registry in Pakistan. (A gift was presented to her).

Departing council members

The President thanked

- Tony Whitehouse for his expertise in IT and chairing the Digital Strategy Programme Board.
- Sarah Clarke first non-doctor elected to council.
- Craig Brown first non-doctor to become an officer of the council (Honorary Treasurer).

Gifts were presented to all three departing council members.



Finally, GM thanked everyone present and said how much he had enjoyed being President. The Presidential chain was handed over to Ganesh Suntharalingam and he formally took up office as the new President.

3. New President's plans for the future activities of the Society

Ganesh Suntharalingam (GS) thanked GM for all he had done as President over the last two years, particularly leading the Society through a time of transition. GS commended GM for being supportive and collaborative, open to ideas and the key alliances he had made on behalf of the Society with other specialties and partners which is very important in our evolution. GS gave GM a gift on behalf of Council and staff.

GS set out his plans for his term as President. He endorsed the new five year strategy which is now on the Society's website. He also reflected that as the Society approaches its 50th anniversary in 2020, he found archive documents from 1970 setting out the aim of the Society at that time to have around 40-80 members and a meeting once a year with an international speaker!

GS said he would continue the collaborative work and would look for answers in the room as to how we support the 65 million people in the UK who may need Intensive Care at some point.

The focus will be on

- Learning and Research with partners such as UKCCRG and ICNARC.
- Working with the National networks to produce practical guidance and standards.
- Covering all disciplines working in critical care not just consultants
- The Society's public facing role influencing others and raising the profile of critical care and expanding our fundraising capacity.

4. CEO report - the ICS 5 year Strategy (SJM)

SJM, described it as a privilege to be the Chief Executive of ICS and to attend her 2nd SOA conference. She thanked the Executive Committee and President for their support during her first year in post.

She introduced the new 5 year Strategy for the Society which was developed with Council, Committees and staff. She described how the strategy was developed with information and ideas gathered via interviews and workshops and thanked everyone for contributing. She specifically thanked Jonathan Downham and Jackie McRae for helping her to engage with AHP members via a TwitterChat

SJM reinforced the importance of the multi-professional aspect of the Society and that this was set out as a critical enabler for the successful delivery of the strategy.

SJM described the strategy as the moral compass for how Council, Committees and staff act on behalf of members and invited members to hold the Society to account and help us to deliver the Strategy.

5. Honorary Treasurer's Report – Accounts and Subscriptions 2018 (CB) CB presented his final report as Honorary Treasurer of the Society and said that the finances were in good order. He advised that good investment and monitoring VAT was wise and that investments needed to be meaningful and purposeful.



He explained that Council had approved a small uplift in membership fees which was consistent with other societies. He explained that the costs of running the organisation increase year on year so the membership fees need to reflect these increased costs.

He said he was confident he was handing over stable and sustainable finances to the new Honorary Treasurer and that the Society had stuck to the budget in 2018 and will do so again in 2019.

CB also thanked the team that had worked with him to develop the first ever multi professional AHP Critical Care Professional Development Framework which the Society launched. CB said that it reflected an investment in members and the community in which we work.

CB handed the Honorary Treasurer role over to Dr Steve Mathieu.

6. Declare the results of Elections: Newly Elected Officers & New Members of Council (SW)

Stephen Webb, the Honorary Secretary, formally notified the members present about the new officers who had been elected to Council and the newly elected members to Council and congratulated them all. They were as follows.

- Honorary Treasurer Steve Mathieu.
- 5 members newly elected to council
- Hugh Montgomery re-elected.
- Nitin Arora
- Stephen Wright
- Ashley Miller
- Simon Hayward
- Sarah Dyson

7. Date of Next AMM (SW)

Members were invited to attend the next AMM to be held on Tuesday 10 December 2019 at the SOA conference.

8. Venue for SoA 2019 (SW)

International Convention Centre (ICC) Birmingham

9. Questions from the audience (SW)

No questions received.

10.AOB

No other business. Thanks were given to everyone who participated in the meeting.