Meet our Trustee Board and CEO

The Intensive Care Society is governed by a Trustee Board of eight trustees. Five are clinical professionals - four elected by the Society's Council and one is a recent Council member. Three are recruited through open advert as independent lay trustees with expertise in NHS management, communications and charity governance. 

The Trustee Board is advised by a Council of intensive care professionals elected by the Society's membership. Council has five Divisions: standards; research, public affairs (including a patients and relatives committee), professional affairs and learning.

The Society has a core dedicated team of staff including a Chief Executive who is responsible for the operational management of the charity. 

Dr Stephen Webb
President and Trustee 
(Elected 2019)

Stephen is a Consultant in intensive care and anaesthesia at Royal Papworth Hospital NHS Trust and former Honorary Secretary of the Society before becoming President Elect. He was also inaugural Chair of the Society's Standards Division responsible for leading national work such as the Guidelines for the Provision of Intensive Care Services (GPICS) setting the standard in which every ICU in the country should operate. 

Dr Ganesh Suntharalingam
Immediate Past President and Trustee 
(Elected Dec 2018)

Ganesh is a Consultant in intensive care and anaesthesia as well as clinical lead for Northwick Park Hospital, London North West University Healthcare NHS Trust.

Before being elected as President, Ganesh held the position of Honorary Secretary and was responsible for the re-engineering of the Society's annual conference, State of the Art (SOA), transforming it in to the dynamic conference it is today. SOA is renowned for uniting intensive care professionals from around the world for three days of education, networking and knowledge exchange. 

Dr Sandy Mather 
Chief Executive

Sandy began her career as a radiographer, which led to her undertaking a PhD in Child Health. Making the decision to move away from a clinical setting, Sandy gained a wealth of experience operating at a senior management level, leading strategy and change programmes for non profit organisations and membership bodies particularly those involved in professional education, training, standards, research and international development.  Sandy joined the Society in 2017.

Dr Steve Mathieu
Honorary Treasurer and Trustee
(Elected Dec 2018)

Steve is a Consultant in critical care and Care Group Director for Critical care, Anaesthesia and Theatres at Queen Alexandra Hospital, Portsmouth. On top of his role as Honorary Treasurer he is also the Programme Director for the Society's flagship conference, State of the Art (SOA).  Steve has an interest in technological and digital innovation and developed and maintains the Portsmouth ICU website. 


Dr Shondipon Laha
Honorary Secretary and Trustee 
(Elected Dec 2019)

Shondipon is a Consultant in intensive care and anaesthesia at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the Intensive Care Society's Honorary Secretary. He is also the Society's Learning Division Chair leading the education and ultrasound programme across the UK.

Shondipon is also Honorary President of the Association of North Western ICUs (ANWICU).

Professor Tony Whitehouse
(Appointed Dec 2019)

Tony Whitehouse is a Consultant in intensive care at University Hospital Birmingham (UHB).  He trained in many of the major London teaching hospitals where he developed research interests in ICU infection control and mechanisms of sepsis-induced acute renal failure.

Sarah Anderson 
Lay Trustee 
(Appointed Dec 2019)

Sarah is a chartered accountant with over 20 years’ experience advising a wide range of charities in accounting and governance matters. Currently working as a Director for Deloitte LLP in Leeds, she is responsible for a national portfolio of charitable organisations.

Sarah also volunteers at the adult critical care units at Leeds Teaching Hospital NHS Trust with her therapy dog Maggie, as part of the Pets as Therapy initiative to which the Society is a huge advocate.

Stephen Posey 
Lay Trustee
(Appointed Dec 2019)

Stephen is Chief Executive of Royal Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, the UK’s leading heart and lung hospital, and brings over 20 years’ experience in the health service, spanning commissioner, provider and strategic roles.

Martin Cresswell 
Lay Trustee
(Appointed Dec 2019)

Martin brings a wealth of experience in communications, public relations and journalism. His work in healthcare began when he joined the Board of the former South Essex Health Authority as Director of Communications, later becoming an independent consultant, working with NHS hospitals and trust across London, Southeast and Northeast.