A massive congratulations to all our nominees and winners (listed below) of this year's Intensive Care Society Awards 2020. 

It was a great evening full of celebrating the exceptional talent within the intensive care community.

If you couldn't make the evening, don't worry you can watch the whole thing below.   

We look forward to seeing you all at #ICSAwards2021!!!!!

Innovation Award

Recognises and rewards an individual/team who has developed new innovative ideas, techniques or equipment which have led to significant improvements in patient care.

Winner: Sam Goodhand


  • Cambridge Microarray Investigators (CMI) group - led by Dr Vilas Navapurkar at Addenbrooke’s Hospital
  • East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust “Post Critical Care Rehabilitation Group”
  • Sam Goodhand at Kent Surrey & Sussex School of Anaesthesia
  • Sheena Wright at Wrightington, Wigan & Leigh NHS Foundation Trust - Risk Assessment Tool to Prevent Unsafe Redeployment of Nursing Staff from Critical Care


Patient-centred care Award

Recognises and rewards an individual/team whose project has demonstrated a patient-centred approach to improving care outcomes.

Winner: Kate Tantam


  • Altanchimeg Sainbayar, Mongolian National University of Medical Sciences
  • Annie Martin, Katherine Atkin, Bryony Lewis, Kate Harman, Ben McCleary, Allaina Eden Royal Papworth Hospital
  • Claire Randell, The Newcastle Upon Tyne NHS Foundation Trust
  • Frida Burnet, Royal Papworth Hospital
  • Kate Tantam, University Hospital Plymouth
  • National Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) service, Royal Papworth Hospital
  • PACMEN Team, Belfast Health & Social Care Trust
  • The EMPOWER team, University Hospitals Southampton
  • William English and Sarah Bean, Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust


Improvement Project Award

Recognises and rewards an individual/team whose project has demonstrated measurable improvement via implementation of a sustainable change in the provision of patient care.

Winner: Brendan McGrath and the Tracheostomy Team - Whythenshawe Hospital


  • Acute Multidisciplinary Tracheostomy Team at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals
  • Fiqry Fadhlillah at Whittington Hospital - Emergency Airway Management: A Look into the Practice, Rate of Success, and Adverse Events of 94 Endotracheal Intubations and Introduction of Measures to Improve Success Rate
  • Joanne McPeake and the InS:PIRE Programme (Intensive Care Syndrome: Promoting Independence and Return to Employment)
  • Justin Roberts, Jenny Oakley, Emma Watson, Shaun Morgan, Christine Fothergill, Christine Barnes at East Lancashire Teaching Hospitals for their IV drug monographs
  • Brendan McGrath and Multidisciplinary Tracheostomy Team at Wythenshawe Hospital (Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust)

Welfare and wellbeing Award

Recognises and celebrates an individual/team who has prioritised workforce welfare and wellbeing in the workplace.

Winner: Staff Wellbeing and Diversity Group, UCLH 


  • East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust Critical Care Unit, East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Gilly Fleming & Anna Stout, NHS Lothian
  • Julie Patrick-Heselton, Royal Liverpool Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Parnika Sharma, Whittington Health NHS Trust
  • Shashikumar Chandrashekaraiah, Lancashire Teaching Hospital NHS Trust
  • Staff wellbeing and diversity group, University College London Hospitals NHS Trust
  • The Southmead ICU consultants- Specialty Lead Aidan Marsh, Educational supervisor Debbie Harris, Southmead Hospital


Research Award

Recognises and rewards a research team whose work has had a major impact on critical care service provision.

Winner: Eve Corner


  • Eve Corner, Brunel University London (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust)
  • Gill Arbane and Research Nurses, Guy’s & St Thomas’ Hospital London
  • Jerry Nolan, Royal United Hospital Bath
  • Royal Liverpool critical care research team, Royal Liverpool Hospitals NHS Trust

Education Award

Recognises and rewards an individual/team who has developed a sustainable education programme at local/regional/national level to improve patient care.

Winner: The Medical Education Team, NHSBT


  • Andy Aswani, Simon Sparkes and colleagues – Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital London
  • Anna Stout & Gilly Fleming for Trainee Anaesthetists and Intensivists in Education (TRAINED) group
  • Bath Intensive Care Unit ‘Tea Trolley Training’ Team – Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust
  • Carmel Whiting at The Royal Shrewsbury and Telford Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Glenfield Echo Education Team at Glenfield Hospital, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust
  • John Walmsley, Sally Fray, Eve Knowles, Alison Scott and Victoria Burton - Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS trust
  • Laura Strachan and Richard Appleton for the “Scottish Intensive Care Society e-learning modules”.
  • Medical Education Team at NHS Blood and Transplant (NHSBT)
  • The Pan-London Critical Care Intravenous Therapy Programme - North London Critical Care Networks
  • Critical Care Education team at Royal Papworth Hospital
  • Parjam Zolfaghari, course director of The Queen Mary University of London Masters in Critical Care Distance Learning Course.
  • Theophilus Luke Samuels for the Critical Care Ultrasonography Training Programme – Surrey & Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Samantha Cook at Greater Manchester Critical Care Skills Institute
  • Samantha Hendry & Kelie Beever at Royal Liverpool University Hospital
  • Shashikumar Chandrashekaraiah and the Lancashire Teaching Hospitals Simulation team - Lancashire Teaching hospitals NHS Trust

Highly Commended

The quality of applications was so strong that we also awards the following highly commended awards to:

  • Dr Parjam Zolfaghari for the QMUL masters in critical care distance learning course (Education award category) 
  • Joanna McPeake and the InS:PIRE team – NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde (Improvement project award category)
  • Alain Vuylsteke on behalf of nation extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) service (Patient-centred care award category)
  • Shashikumar Chandrashekaraiah for the LTHTR awards at Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust (Welfare and wellbeing award category)

Outstanding Contribution to Intensive Care Medicine

We were delighted to award and welcome Professor Jerry Nolan as an Intensive Care Society Distinguished Member for his outstanding contribution to intensive care medicine.